Mobile Menu Icon
Header Interior Image
Header Interior Mobile Image

Latest News


January 13, 2024

IPRA (International Finals Rodeo) history was made Friday evening in Guthrie, Oklahoma, during the IFR54 (54th International Finals Rodeo) at the Lazy E Arena. In a showdown effort with a nearly flawless display of athleticism, reigning World Champion and current No. 1 Kyla Matthews (Athens, Tennessee) tied the IFR arena record for the organization's 54-year history with a lightning-fast 1.9 seconds.

The organization’s arena record was achieved three times. Kelsie Chase (Dublin, Oklahoma), the 2020 IFR World Champion, and Winter Williams (Copan, Oklahoma) were the most recent to accomplish the feat in 2021.

Lane Elsenpeter (Fairland, Oklahoma) reserved his fortunes with an 82.75-score on Friday night as he remained in perfect time with Coal Thunder; Elsenpeter reached the requisite 8 as the boisterous crowd erupted in cheer. His victory overshadowed IPRA’s No. 10 man, Quintonn Lunsford's (McCune, Kansas), 81.75 score. This is Lunsford’s first stop at the IFR.

During the Friday night performance, David Reagor Jr. (Morris, Oklahoma) clawed his way up the IPRA ranks as he led the steer wrestling competition with a steadfast 3.7. The 33-year-old and his horse of the year took home an additional $3,703 in earnings on top of the nearly $500 he cashed in during Round 1. Chase Crane (Boynton, Oklahoma) was a near 5.1 seconds in the round.

Garrett Smith (Anna, Illinois) and Josh Clayton (Buchanan, Tennessee)  catapulted their lead up the standings as the duo took home their second straight win of the event with an impressive 4.8-second win. Brady Barrentine (Live Oak, Florida) and Reno Gonzalaez (Whigham, Georgia) again trailed the Smith/Clayton matchup as the pair turned their steer at the 5.0-second time to earn $2,777 apiece.

Kody Rinehart (Kienzi, Mississippi) punched his ticket to the Saddle bronc round win courtesy of his conquest against Johnny Dollar. The reigning IPRA World Champion remained centered aboard the stock, making the 8 with ease as he punctuated his perfect weekend with an 76.0-point score. Via his win, Rinehart earned a crucial check for $3,703 to help him ride to the top of the average with a 158.75.  

In the tie-down roping, the 11x IFR qualifier Caddo Lewallen (Morrison, Oklahoma) split the round with IFR Rookie Cynch Whistesell (Marietta, South Carolina). Their 8.3-second effort in Round 2 earned each of them $3,240. The pair were only two of three contestants to earn a time under the 8-second mark. Lewallen leads the average with an 8.7 on two.

In the barrel racing, 6x IFR qualifier Emily Stiles (Plymouth, Indiana) expertly navigated the course as her 16.450-second run in the final round was the quickest, distancing runner-up Wendy Chesnut (Poultney, Vermont) who recorded a 16.495-second run. 

IPRA World No. 1 Hudson Bolton won the round with a 75.5-point ride on Air BNB. Bolton ended the evening with $59,335 in 2023 IPRA earnings.

Hudson Bolton (Milan, Tennessee) also improved to a perfect 2-for-2 in Guthrie, remaining atop the Stagecoach Slinger. Bolton, who won Round 1 Thursday night with a monster 89-point ride, defended his No. 1 world ranking when he dominated AIR BNB for 75.5 points.

Bolton is the only rider to have gone a flawless 2-for-2 in the Lazy E.

Full Results and Standings HERE.

Single-day tickets for the 2024 10 Richest Days of Rodeo are on sale now and start at $20 for adults and $10 for kids plus fees. Tickets can be purchased online at, and, at the Lazy E Arena Box Office or by calling the lazy E Arena at (405) 282-3004.